skip navigation

Whitby’s Eric Perroni Inducted into the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame

By WMLA Communications, 12/01/18, 1:15PM EST


Established in 1997 and celebrating its 21st class of inductees, the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame recognizes the achievements of those individuals who have made a notable impact to the sport of lacrosse in Ontario as players, builders, veterans, special contributors and/or charter members.

Earlier this month Whitby’s own Eric Perroni was recognized as a 2018 inductee into the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame within the player category.

Eric has dedicated his lifetime of involvement to the Whitby/Brooklin lacrosse programs.   He played junior lacrosse for the Whitby Junior “A” Warriors from 1980 until 1985, winning three Minto Cup Canadian National Championship titles (1980, 1984 and 1985).  Following his junior career, Eric joined the Brooklin Senior “A” Redmen for the next 15 years, capturing four Mann Cup Canadian National Championship victories (1987, 1988, 1990 and 2000). He finished the 1991 season 4th in league scoring, and won the Merv MacKenzie trophy for Most Valuable Defensive Player in 1994.  Eric competed against notable lacrosse legends including Paul and Gary Gait, as well as fellow Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame members Tom Wreggitt and Wayne Colley.  Eric also played one year in the National Lacrosse League for the Whitby Steelhawks in 1991.

Following the conclusion of his playing career, Eric coached minor lacrosse for the Whitby Warriors where he gave back to the game for 10+ years.

On behalf of the entire Whitby Minor Lacrosse organization please join us in congratulating Eric on this tremendous achievement.